Hawkesbury Cricket Club are ready for their big 2019/2020 season

Hawkesbury Cricket Club has announced teams for this Saturday's round one clash against the University of NSW in the NSW Premier Cricket (formerly Sydney Grade) competition following final trials last weekend.

First, third and fifth grades will all be playing away with second, fourth and the newly-formed sixth grade sides set to play at home at the Bensons Lane Complex.

The squad: Peter Forrest leads his team from the field during an early round of the 2018/19 season. Picture: Geoff Jones

The squad: Peter Forrest leads his team from the field during an early round of the 2018/19 season. Picture: Geoff Jones

The sixth team was formed due to a record 120 players taking part in the trials. The team will play in the Sydney Metropolitan competition, which parallels the premier competition.

All sides look stronger than last season with incoming president and club stalwart, Hugh McKay, hopeful of improved results.

Former Australian representative and local product, Peter Forrest, will again be head coach for the club as well as the captain of the first grade side.

Forrest returned to the Hawks last season after a 10 year absence, keen to share his international and extensive first class experience.

Forrest heads up a stronger looking first team, which boasts many local products plus a few out of area players.

Star Pakistani leg spinner, Usman Qadir, is also set to return to the club after bidding farewell to his legendary father, Abdul Qadir, who passed away suddenly earlier this month, as well as welcoming his first child.

The Hawks' lower grades also appear much stronger than last season with many returning players, plus an influx of new and exciting talent.

Grades one to five will start at 9.30am on Saturday, September 28, with sixth grade playing Sunday, September 29.

Matches will feature 50 overs a side.


First grade:

1. Ryan Mizzi (wc)

2. Jas Cheema

3. Bilal Querishi

4. Dale Mckay

5. Peter Forrest (c)

6. Scott Baldwin

7. Shinwari Nazir

8. Hameed Kherkhah

9. Chris Lawrence

10. Aiden Van Den Nieubower

11. Matthew Frame

Second grade:

1. Chaitnya Sharma

2. Matthew Rose

3. Pat Moore

4. Jarod Brett

5. Rehan Anjum (c)

6. Nikki Radhakrishnan (wc)

7. Marcus Farquharson

8. Bailey Thompson

9. Austin Philip

10. Shebak Khan

11. Aniket Kapila

Third grade:

1. Cameron Kwok

2. Brandon Jayasinghe

3. Connor Mizzi

4. Kyle Vicary

5. Nick Toscan

6. Dan Hardaker (c)

7. Chris De Kretser

8. Connor Liso (wc)

9. Ethan Sitamarayya

10. Abbas Khan

11. Ben Bradshaw

Fourth grade:

1. Sharvesh Sharavanan

2. Julian Aldridge (wc)

3. Stirling Mcavoy

4. Zuf Salahuddin

5. Dean Laing (c)

6. Praneeth Weerasooyra

7. Nixon Inskip

8. Matthew Williams

9. Jayden Wheeler

10. Gabriel Venica-singh

11. Ethan Franke

Fifth grade:

1. Hemish Ahuja

2. Abhijeet Dandyan

3. Lachlan Jacobs

4. Brock Fitton (wc)

5. Ethan Shields

6. Ryan Hicks

7. Archie Peters

8. Mo Singh

9. Sanjiv Dubey (c)

10. Aditya Krishna

11. Paul Devaney

Sixth grade:

1. Callum Dennis

2. Liam Devaney (wc)

3. Aryan Melukote

4. Mitchell Roeder

5. Ben Byrnes

6. Luke Polglase (c)

7. Aiden Kisbee

8. Jack Chapman

9. Aaron Stewart

10. Dylan Martin

11. Dylan Piggot