Parramatta's under-21 Poidevin-Gray Shield team win premiership

Parramatta Cricket Club has won the 2016-17 under-21s Poidevin-Gray Shield premiership.

The team celebrated an undefeated season with a 91-run win over St George in the final.

Captain Tim Ward led from the front, plundering 95 runs to win the Shane Lee Medal for player of the final.

“Throughout the week, I thought it would be amazing to hit a match-winning hundred to get my team across the line,” Ward, 19, said. 

“The individual performance was good but I was just happy we won the game. I wouldn’t have cared if I got a first-ball duck as long as we could win it.”

After finishing 19th in the competition last year, Ward said this result was special.

It was a memorable weekend for Parramatta’s first grade side as well after qualifying for its first finals campaign since 1993-94.

Called up to first grade earlier in the season following a double-century in second grade, Ward said it was great to be part of ending the 23-year drought.  

“To me it’s special making the finals but I can see a few of the older guys in the change rooms and how much it really means to them,” he said. 

“A few of them have played in this first grade team for over 10 years and haven't come close to winning. For them, it just means so much.”

Parramatta play the third-placed Bankstown in the qualifying final at Bankstown Memorial Oval this weekend.

This story Parramatta’s sweet win | Pictures first appeared on Rouse Hill Courier.


Discuss "Parramatta’s sweet win | Pictures"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.