MPs briefed on F3-M2 Missing Link

Coalition MPs in the north-west were briefed on a Transurban proposal for the F3-M2 Missing Link on Tuesday.

The Missing Link Action Network were given a briefing from private motorway operator Transurban regarding its unsolicited bid lodged with the state government for a possible F3 to M2 Motorway Tunnel link underneath Pennant Hills Road.

The network was formed earlier this year to fight for the prioritisation of the F3-M2 Link — the single most important road connection for residents in Sydney’s north west and Central Coast.  

The NSW Government and Transurban are working together to develop a proposal.

Members believe private sector involvement offers the potential for the F3-M2 Missing Link to come to reality more quickly than if it were left to be wholly funded by government. 

The experience with other roads such as the M2 and the M7 supports this belief.  

‘‘We want to see the F3-M2 Missing Link built to deliver benefits to the communities we represent – and we want to ensure that if this proposal from Transurban proceeds, its design addresses the proper and reasonable concerns of nearby residents,’’ Berowra MP Philip Ruddock said.

Key design principles for the F3-M2 Missing Link have been identified in work done over the last decade.  The 2004 Sinclair Knight Merz (SKM) study identified air quality, alternative transport options and noise impacts as the areas the community wanted to be scrutinised.

SKM found the project capable of delivering positive benefits in each area, including reduced noise for 94per cent of residents and air quality improvements by removing stop-start conditions and allowing ventilation of emissions.

The network comprises federal and state Liberal MPs including Senator Arthur Sinodinos, Member for Berowra MP Philip Ruddock, Bradfield MP Paul Fletcher, Bennelong MP John Alexander, Mitchell MP Alex Hawke, Liberal candidate for Robertson Lucy Wicks, Liberal Candidate for Dobell Karen McNamara, Hornsby MP Matt Kean, Davidson MP Jonathan O'Dea, Gosford MP Chris Holstein, Castle Hill MP Dominic Perrottet and Hawkesbury MP Ray Williams.

This story MPs briefed on F3-M2 Missing Link first appeared on Hills News.